Posted by: angrybeesound | June 1, 2010

perspective

Setting: Seven Hills of Kirkland century option. It is raining, it has been raining. My buddy Paul and I are 55 miles into the 100 mile course. I have had wet feet since mile 18. We come down into the Snoqualmie River Valley, heading towards Stillwater Hill and Cherry Valley road. The misting rain turns to steady rain with patches of real rain. (they say Eskimos have 33 words for snow, we here in the upper left have 50 ways to describe rain). I am wet, a few miles back I tried to find one part of me that was dry, I failed. I am not cold though. I am wearing bibs, undershirt, wonderful fat cyclist jersey, arm and knee warmers, a cap, a great showers pass rain vest and shoe covers. i have gloves in my back pocket if i need to warm up. No traffic, were riding side by side. Paul is a stronger climber than I am. He is a machine. However, he is a more timid descender. We’ve been on a few club rides together.

The comment: “Man today is a wonderful day, I am having a great time”

He was totally right, it is all about how you look at it. I could have ridden the exact same ride and easily said I had a crap day, but I had a great day. I rode my bike well and strong for 100 miles with great company. Can you ask for more?

Leave a Reply

Categories

